Wednesday, 29 April 2015

The Origin and Cessation of Suffering

Figure 1
Just like the title of this blog, we shall focus closely on 'right view.' Some refer to it as perfect understanding. However, it's best to refer to the pali word 'samma-ditthi'. This is the first factor of the noble eightfold path and it is crucial to the way we bring an end of our sufferings that has been going on for eternity.

This post will feature just two images pertaining to the detailed analysis of the way suffering begins and the way suffering should end in a step by step method of understanding that is  critical to the buddhist way of thinking. Figure 1 simply shows the way in which sufferings begin. According to MN-38.17 (The Greater Discourse on the Destruction of Craving), the Buddha provides the order of how conditions are dependent on other conditions to come to be but unfortunately lead to suffering. Moreover, ignorance as a condition leads to volition/formations, formations as a condition in turn will lead to consciousness that becomes a condition and the same process continues to mentality-materiality to six-fold sense base; to contact; feeling; craving; clinging; being; birth; ageing and death; that in turn leads to sorrow, lamentation, pain, grief and despair.

Nonetheless, after a noble disciple learns the process of dependent origination, he/she must make effort to reverse the process. Henceforth, the teachings by Venerable Sariputta as mentioned in MN-9 (Right View) gives us insight in the detailed analysis of the conditions and what must be done to eradicate suffering in the reverse order method with right view. In addition, it is key to first construct our wisdom and knowledge of the conditions, (1) what they are, (2) how they arise, (3) how they cease, and also (4) know the way that that particular condition ceases, necessary to eliminate sufferings (figure 2).

Figure 2

Mahatanhasankhaya Sutta/The Greater Discourse on the Destruction of Craving
Right View/Sammaditthi Sutta

No comments:

Post a Comment